Making (onride) videos

• 5 replies

Offline Elch

• Berlin, Germany
    • View Profile
Making (onride) videos
« on: May 06, 2019, 04:54 PM »
I thought this would be easier than with RCT3, but apparently I was wrong. Sorry if this question was discussed before, but I am still quite new to Planco and a bit lost with making videos.

I got OBS for this, as apparently you can't record video within PC (correct?), and while my fps aren't great in the game, they are even worse on the output video.
So bad that I can't share what I initially wanted to share, and this might mess up my plans with my current thread.

Is there anything I might miss? Of course you can't tell what settings I am using, and all, but maybe there are some generally applying rules or tricks that have been around before I got into this?

Re: Making (onride) videos
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2019, 05:28 PM »
There's some software called CheatEngine that people use where you record your video at 1/4 normal speed and then restore the speed in your movie editor.  You lose the audio when you do this, and it obviously quadruples your recording time.  I don't like it but it's currently necessary in my park.

If peeps aren't needed for your video, close the park and drain them.  Your FPS will improve greatly.

I use the built-in recorder in my video card (in my case, Radeon, but I think most cards have them.)  Not sure if it's better or worse than OBS.

The last thing I can think of, and this is a last resort but something else I may have to attempt soon, is making a special save file for your video and then deleting anything you can think of that won't show up in the video.  Works well for dark rides, sucks for coasters.

Good luck, I'd hate to not get to see you finish your project.

Offline Bullethead

• shyguy's World Rocks!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2019, 06:07 PM »